Convert Alpha to Numeric
Last Post 18 Jun 2002 07:46 AM by Anonymous. 10 Replies.
AddThis - Bookmarking and Sharing Button Printer Friendly
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages Not Resolved
Anonymous
Editorial Staff Member
Editorial Staff Member

--
18 Jun 2002 07:01 AM
Does anyone have some RPG code that would convert an alpha field to a numeric field? I have been using an RPG II routine with arrays for many years but now that I need to increase the size of the field, I need to change this cumbersome code. The alpha field would have values left justified as follows: 12345 -12345 123.45 12.345 Thanks for any help.
Anonymous
Editorial Staff Member
Editorial Staff Member

--
18 Jun 2002 07:46 AM Accepted Answer
Sure, just use the %DEC() built-in function. You can specify a character value, and %DEC() will return the value in decimal numeric format. But if you want an answer that will work on a release prior to V5R2, you can find lots of answers if you use the search button on this web site.
Anonymous
Editorial Staff Member
Editorial Staff Member

--
18 Jun 2002 07:54 AM Accepted Answer
Hans - That bordered on being sadistic :-) (The sadist words we hear from you Are simply these - V5R2) Bill
Anonymous
Editorial Staff Member
Editorial Staff Member

--
19 Jun 2002 06:53 AM Accepted Answer
Hi Hans, Finally... a %DEC function ... anyway, just tested it at V5R2 and it seems to work fine (however a bit to flexible if you ask me). Guess I'll keep my own wrapper function, and maybe make it a bit easier via the %DEC function. Now, let's wait till everybody is at V5R2...
Anonymous
Editorial Staff Member
Editorial Staff Member

--
19 Jun 2002 07:21 AM Accepted Answer