data transfer from AS400 using iSeries
Last Post 01 Mar 2013 12:14 AM by B.Hauser. 5 Replies.
AddThis - Bookmarking and Sharing Button Printer Friendly
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages Not Resolved
p tk

--
27 Feb 2013 04:22 PM

My company uses AS400 with i series platform for day to day operations. I am very new to these systems and working as an end user (as a demand analyst)

I want to know the formula used to define a parameter. I can locate tables and parameters inside that table using i series interface. 

But when I import that data into MSExcel, values of some parameters are not as per my expectations. Is there anyway I can find out the formula used to define these parameters ?

I go to Addin in Msexcel -> transfer data from i series -> locate library -> locate table name -> import

Any help highly appreciated.

Scott Klement
Editorial Staff Member
Editorial Staff Member

--
27 Feb 2013 05:19 PM

The operating system for our platform was originally released under the name OS/400, but was replaced with a newer generation called i5/OS, and then subsequently replaced with a newer generation called IBM i.  So on the software end, we have:  OS/400, i5/OS or IBM i.

The hardware for our platform was originally released as AS/400.  Later replaced with iSeries, then System i5, and finally, Power Systems.

So if you bought a system today, you'd have the IBM i operating system running on Power Systems hardware.

The reason I'm explaining this is because you refer to "AS400 with iSeries platform", which doesn't make any sense -- it means you're running an old version of the hardware on top of an even older version of the hardware.  Really doesn't make any sense...  so I thought it'd be useful to understand what the names mean.

Anyway -- on to your question...