Converting Packed Decimal
Last Post 10 Jan 2013 04:51 AM by Terry Winchester. 14 Replies.
AddThis - Bookmarking and Sharing Button Printer Friendly
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
user400

--
28 Dec 2012 10:45 AM

I am new to technical documents describing field layouts. We currently are receiving a file from outside our system being sent FTP in Binary mode. From what I understand it is coming from IBM Mainframe than to us. Which is a Windows server than to our AS/400.

I just need a little help wrapping my brain around this in theroy I should be able to FTP from Our windows server to our AS/400 via Binary mode than for a lack of a better term "unpack" the packed feilds however this is where I am stuck I get the file over just fine however those fields are unreadable b/c they are still "packed"

The Tech document reads a position, length and "picture" (which I am not sure what this means) in the picture field they are described as a packed field S9(4)V C-3.

At this point I am just wondering if I am on the right track and would like some suggestions on how to write a CL to create a readable file from the file I have pulled down.

Gary Lavery

--
28 Dec 2012 12:04 PM
You could use SQL and substring the data to a new file.
To unpack packed decimal in SQL is a real PITA but there's examples/discussion online...for instance:
http://www.justskins.com/forums/con...23232.html
I had to do it once but it was so long ago I can't lay my hands on it.
If you want to try via SQL and you are stuck, write back and I'll see if I can come up with a practical example.
Gary
Terry Winchester
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

--
28 Dec 2012 02:23 PM